The Remakable Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith



[For immediate release]

Rosana Hart, contact form on
Alan C. Elms,, 530-752-1699
Eleanor Lang, , 212-488-6860

Crestone, CO, June 12, 2001-- The first annual Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award will be presented on Sunday, September 2, 2001, at the 59th World Science Fiction Convention, "Philcon," in Philadelphia, PA. Noted science fiction author Robert Silverberg will be presenting the Award on behalf of the Cordwainer Smith Awards Committee and the Cordwainer Smith Foundation.

"The Cordwainer," as the award has been nicknamed, will go to to a science fiction or fantasy writer whose work displays unusual originality, embodies the spirit of Cordwainer Smith's fiction, and deserves renewed attention or 'Rediscovery.'

Jurors for this year's Award are four of the most distinguished and encyclopedic minds in contemporary science fiction, all Hugo winners themselves: Robert Silverberg, Gardner Dozois, John Clute, and Scott Edelman. They were free to choose any writer, living or dead, for the Award.

About Cordwainer Smith

The name of the award, Rediscovery, is derived from the title of the one-volume edition of Cordwainer Smith's complete short stories, The Rediscovery of Man, published by New England Science Fiction Association Press. "Cordwainer Smith" was the pseudonym of political scientist and psychological warfare expert Paul M. A. Linebarger (1913-1966). In the years since his death, his reputation for haunting, uniquely-crafted stories has continued to grow, with many writers in the science fiction community acknowledging his influence on their work. The first Cordwainer Smith story, "Scanners Live in Vain," has been nominated for a retro Hugo this year, in the novelette category.

About the Cordwainer Smith Foundation

The Rediscovery Award is a project of the Cordwainer Smith Foundation, which promotes the celebration and study of the works and ideals of Cordwainer Smith. Its Directors include Smith's two daughters. Joining them are Alan C. Elms, Professor of Psychology at UC Davis, who is completing the definitive biography of Paul Linebarger, and Ralph Benko, a Washington, DC, consultant who originally suggested the award.

The Cordwainer Smith Foundation is planning to celebrate its debut at Philcon, in a manner that will be announced later. Details will posted on the home page of (also reachable as The event will take place on Sunday, September 2.



Click on the t-shirts to see all our Cordwainer Smith
t-shirt designs:


< Science Fiction Book Club. Join now!

Search this site...


NEW! His spy thriller  Atomsk, written as Carmichael Smith, is now on the Kindle!
Click on the image to find out more at Amazon.

Atomsk Kindle version

 The Blog
 His Books
 The Rediscovery of Man, by Cordwainer Smith
 Norstrilia, by Cordwainer Smith
 Atomsk, by Carmichael Smith
 Ria, by Felix C. Forrest
 Carola, by Felix C. Forrest
 Psychological Warfare, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul: One Letter
 Books about His Science Fiction
 Concordance to Cordwainer Smith, by Anthony Lewis
 The Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith, by Karen Hellekson
 Exploring Cordwainer Smith, Booklet by Andrew Porter
 Where You Can Get Books
 Cordwainer Smith at Amazon
 Cordwainer Smith at Alibris
 Cordwainer Smith at AbeBooks
 Cordwainer Smith on eBay
 Cordwainer Smith, the Author
 A Cordwainer Smith Panel Discussion
 Scholarly Corner, by Alan C. Elms
 What Other Science Fiction Authors Say
 What Readers Say
 Paul M. A. Linebarger, the Man
 Family Photos
 A Daughter's Memories
 Was Paul Linebarger Kirk Allen?
 His Arlington National Cemetery Bio and My Comments
 Rosana's Ramblings
 Rambling 1: Shakespeare Had It Wrong
 Rambling 2: The Return of C'mell, Sort Of
 Art Inspired by Cordwainer Smith
 Virgil Finlay
 Pierre Lacombe
 Craig Moore
 Corby Waste
 Annual Rediscovery Award
 2012 Fredric Brown
 2011 Katherine MacLean
 2010 Mark Clifton
 2009 A. Merritt
 2008 Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2007 Daniel F Galouye
 2006 William Hope Hodgson
 2005 Leigh Brackett
 Leigh Brackett: Her Biography
 2004 Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore
 2003 Edgar Pangborn
 2002 R. A. Lafferty
 2001 Olaf Stapledon
 Cordwainer Smith Foundation
 Cordwainer Smith T-Shirts
 Cordwainer Smith: Other Online Resources
 Contact Us
 Illustrated Bibliography, by Mike Bennett
 Introduction to the Illustrated Bibliography
 All the Stories and All the Books
 Chronological Book List
 Magazine Covers
 Book Covers
 Book Covers: Best of Cordwainer Smith
 Book Covers: Instrumentality of Mankind
 Book Covers: Norstrilia
 Book Covers: Planet Buyer
 Book Covers: Rediscovery of Man
 Book Covers: Quest of the Three Worlds
 Book Covers: Space Lords
 Book Covers: Stardreamer
 Book Covers: Under Old Earth
 Book Covers: Underpeople
 Book Covers: You Will Never Be the Same
 Paul Myron Anthony Linebarger - Chronology
 Press Releases
 2008 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award Goes to Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2002: About the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award
 2001: First Rediscovery Award Ceremony
 2001: Creation of Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award