The Remakable Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith

About the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award

"So there's a resplendent new award in the science fiction universe: the Cordwainer," observes Robert Silverberg in his "Reflections" column in the March 2002 issue of Asimov's. He continues:

"The Cordwainer -- or to give it its formal name, the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award -- is intended, so its bylaws declare, to recognize the creative output of 'a science fiction or fantasy writer whose work deserves renewed attention or 'Rediscovery.' This writer's work should display unusual originality and should embody the spirit of Cordwainer Smith's fiction, according to one or more criteria identified by the Awards Committee from time to time."

The Awards Committee is a highly distinguished panel with an encyclopedic knowledge of science fiction past and present: Robert Silverberg, Gardner Dozois, John Clute and Scott Edelman. In 2001 the panel awarded the first Cordwainer to Olaf Stapledon, presented in conjunction with the Hugos at the Millennium Philcon.

The Award itself was inspired by an earlier 'Reflections' column by Silverberg, puzzling over the phenomenon of the evaporation of reputations into obscurity. This observation led Cordwainer Smith Foundation trustee Professor Alan C. Elms, past president of the Science Fiction Research Association, and biographer of the man behind the Cordwainer Smith nom de plume, Paul M. A. Linebarger, to propose a Rediscovery Award as the guiding purpose of the Cordwainer. The Foundation's other trustees include Paul M A Linebarger's two daughters and Washington consultant Ralph Benko.

Additional information on the Cordwainer, its background, history, purposes and administration, may be found at, a highly regarded website maintained by Rosana Hart and devoted to her father's life and work.

Cordwainer Smith's masterpieces of science fiction include such works as "Scanners Live in Vain,""The Lady Who Sailed the Soul," "The Ballad of Lost C'Mell," and "the Game of Rat and Dragon," reprinted in his collected stories, The Rediscovery of Man (NESFA Press, Box 809, Framingham, MA 07101, $24.95), and the novel Norstrilia, (also available from NESFA).



Click on the t-shirts to see all our Cordwainer Smith
t-shirt designs:


< Science Fiction Book Club. Join now!

Search this site...


NEW! His spy thriller  Atomsk, written as Carmichael Smith, is now on the Kindle!
Click on the image to find out more at Amazon.

Atomsk Kindle version

 The Blog
 His Books
 The Rediscovery of Man, by Cordwainer Smith
 Norstrilia, by Cordwainer Smith
 Atomsk, by Carmichael Smith
 Ria, by Felix C. Forrest
 Carola, by Felix C. Forrest
 Psychological Warfare, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul: One Letter
 Books about His Science Fiction
 Concordance to Cordwainer Smith, by Anthony Lewis
 The Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith, by Karen Hellekson
 Exploring Cordwainer Smith, Booklet by Andrew Porter
 Where You Can Get Books
 Cordwainer Smith at Amazon
 Cordwainer Smith at Alibris
 Cordwainer Smith at AbeBooks
 Cordwainer Smith on eBay
 Cordwainer Smith, the Author
 A Cordwainer Smith Panel Discussion
 Scholarly Corner, by Alan C. Elms
 What Other Science Fiction Authors Say
 What Readers Say
 Paul M. A. Linebarger, the Man
 Family Photos
 A Daughter's Memories
 Was Paul Linebarger Kirk Allen?
 His Arlington National Cemetery Bio and My Comments
 Rosana's Ramblings
 Rambling 1: Shakespeare Had It Wrong
 Rambling 2: The Return of C'mell, Sort Of
 Art Inspired by Cordwainer Smith
 Virgil Finlay
 Pierre Lacombe
 Craig Moore
 Corby Waste
 Annual Rediscovery Award
 2012 Fredric Brown
 2011 Katherine MacLean
 2010 Mark Clifton
 2009 A. Merritt
 2008 Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2007 Daniel F Galouye
 2006 William Hope Hodgson
 2005 Leigh Brackett
 Leigh Brackett: Her Biography
 2004 Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore
 2003 Edgar Pangborn
 2002 R. A. Lafferty
 2001 Olaf Stapledon
 Cordwainer Smith Foundation
 Cordwainer Smith T-Shirts
 Cordwainer Smith: Other Online Resources
 Contact Us
 Illustrated Bibliography, by Mike Bennett
 Introduction to the Illustrated Bibliography
 All the Stories and All the Books
 Chronological Book List
 Magazine Covers
 Book Covers
 Book Covers: Best of Cordwainer Smith
 Book Covers: Instrumentality of Mankind
 Book Covers: Norstrilia
 Book Covers: Planet Buyer
 Book Covers: Rediscovery of Man
 Book Covers: Quest of the Three Worlds
 Book Covers: Space Lords
 Book Covers: Stardreamer
 Book Covers: Under Old Earth
 Book Covers: Underpeople
 Book Covers: You Will Never Be the Same
 Paul Myron Anthony Linebarger - Chronology
 Press Releases
 2008 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award Goes to Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2002: About the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award
 2001: First Rediscovery Award Ceremony
 2001: Creation of Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award