The Remakable Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith


  Print This Page

  Add To Favorites

2008 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award Goes to Stanley G. Weinbaum
Award Given at Readercon by Barry Malzberg

Crestone, Colorado, August 22, 2008 -  The eighth Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award was given to early science fiction writer Stanley G. Weinbaum.

Weinbaum burst upon the science fiction scene in 1July 934 with the publication of his story "A Martian Odyssey," in a magazine of the era called Startling Stories. This story was was ground-breakingin several ways, perhaps most notably because the Martian named Tweel was developed as a real character, and this had not been done before.

Wenbaum only lived about two years longer, but by the time of his death, he was widely read and acclaimed -- enough so that some 40 years later,  Ballantine brought out a paperback, The Best of Stanley Weinbaum, Small presses have recently done further reprints of Weinbaum's works.

Judges for the 2008 award were Martin H. Greenberg, Barry N. Malzberg, Robert J. Sawyer, and Mike Resnick. They could choose any fantasy or science fiction author whom they thought deserved rediscovery.

The winners of the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award thus far have been:

  • Olaf Stapledon, 2001
  • R.A. Lafferty, 2002
  • Edgar Pangborn, 2003
  • Henry Kuttner and C.L. Moore, 2004
  • Leigh Brackett, 2005
  • William Hope Hodgson, 2006
  • Daniel F. Galouye, 2007
  • Stanley G. Weinbaum, 2008



CONTACT: Rosana Hart


Click on the t-shirts to see all our Cordwainer Smith
t-shirt designs:


< Science Fiction Book Club. Join now!

Search this site...


NEW! His spy thriller  Atomsk, written as Carmichael Smith, is now on the Kindle!
Click on the image to find out more at Amazon.

Atomsk Kindle version

 The Blog
 His Books
 The Rediscovery of Man, by Cordwainer Smith
 Norstrilia, by Cordwainer Smith
 Atomsk, by Carmichael Smith
 Ria, by Felix C. Forrest
 Carola, by Felix C. Forrest
 Psychological Warfare, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul, by Paul M. A. Linebarger
 Letters from Paul: One Letter
 Books about His Science Fiction
 Concordance to Cordwainer Smith, by Anthony Lewis
 The Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith, by Karen Hellekson
 Exploring Cordwainer Smith, Booklet by Andrew Porter
 Where You Can Get Books
 Cordwainer Smith at Amazon
 Cordwainer Smith at Alibris
 Cordwainer Smith at AbeBooks
 Cordwainer Smith on eBay
 Cordwainer Smith, the Author
 A Cordwainer Smith Panel Discussion
 Scholarly Corner, by Alan C. Elms
 What Other Science Fiction Authors Say
 What Readers Say
 Paul M. A. Linebarger, the Man
 Family Photos
 A Daughter's Memories
 Was Paul Linebarger Kirk Allen?
 His Arlington National Cemetery Bio and My Comments
 Rosana's Ramblings
 Rambling 1: Shakespeare Had It Wrong
 Rambling 2: The Return of C'mell, Sort Of
 Art Inspired by Cordwainer Smith
 Virgil Finlay
 Pierre Lacombe
 Craig Moore
 Corby Waste
 Annual Rediscovery Award
 2012 Fredric Brown
 2011 Katherine MacLean
 2010 Mark Clifton
 2009 A. Merritt
 2008 Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2007 Daniel F Galouye
 2006 William Hope Hodgson
 2005 Leigh Brackett
 Leigh Brackett: Her Biography
 2004 Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore
 2003 Edgar Pangborn
 2002 R. A. Lafferty
 2001 Olaf Stapledon
 Cordwainer Smith Foundation
 Cordwainer Smith T-Shirts
 Cordwainer Smith: Other Online Resources
 Contact Us
 Illustrated Bibliography, by Mike Bennett
 Introduction to the Illustrated Bibliography
 All the Stories and All the Books
 Chronological Book List
 Magazine Covers
 Book Covers
 Book Covers: Best of Cordwainer Smith
 Book Covers: Instrumentality of Mankind
 Book Covers: Norstrilia
 Book Covers: Planet Buyer
 Book Covers: Rediscovery of Man
 Book Covers: Quest of the Three Worlds
 Book Covers: Space Lords
 Book Covers: Stardreamer
 Book Covers: Under Old Earth
 Book Covers: Underpeople
 Book Covers: You Will Never Be the Same
 Paul Myron Anthony Linebarger - Chronology
 Press Releases
 2008 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award Goes to Stanley G. Weinbaum
 2002: About the Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award
 2001: First Rediscovery Award Ceremony
 2001: Creation of Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award